What has Yoga ever done for me?

Much like the Romans, Yoga has done quite a lot for me.

This quote at my Yoga Shala (Yoga Kula Leeds) pretty much sums up how I feel about Yoga.

Inspirational yoga quotes

BKS iyengar yoga quote

The more Ashtanga I do, the more I want to do.  But it wasn’t always like this.  I’ve been practicing for about two years and the shift in attitude from just exercise to way of life has a huge amount to do with the Yoga studio and the teachers.  Until I found the right people in the right place, I liked the physical practice of yoga, but I didn’t go around giving it ‘last night a yogi changed my life’.

But a yogi, or two, have changed my life (they would argue that I have changed my life – but maybe that’s because self-deprecation is all part of being a true yogi).

So back to the point – what has yoga ever done for me?

  1. Given me physical flexibility and strength – I’ve got a long way to go, but my practice improves every day.
  2. Given me an alternate way of viewing the world – learning observation, meditation and detachment made me realise that I can control my reaction to the world around me.  I can choose to harbour negative emotions, or not.
  3. Given me a framework to live by – sort of religious I guess, but Patanjali’s 8 limbs is maybe more of a solid moral code.
  4. Given me a community of amazing friends.
  5. Given me the perspective to change stuff, to seek a more rewarding and fulfilling existence.
  6. It’s also given me some cool silhouette photos against sunrise backdrops.
Leave a Reply

